Getting into a car accident in Roswell is complicated in any situation. However, if the responsible party is a driver from out of state, it can leave you with a lot of questions. Can you bring a case against someone from a different state? Do the same laws apply? And what if the driver is no longer in the area?
Traveling is a regular part of life, so out-of-state driver accidents happen often near Roswell. If you were hurt in this type of accident, don’t worry. Our experienced lawyers can help you with the next steps.
Call John Foy & Associates today for the legal help you need. We’ll examine your accident and your rights. Call us at (404) 400-4000 or contact us online for a FREE consultation. There is no charge at all unless we win your case.
The Laws Apply to the Accident Location
Most of the time, state laws dictate how you handle an accident. For example, let’s say a driver from Texas hits your vehicle while you’re both in Roswell, Georgia. Even though the driver is from Texas, Georgia’s liability laws will apply to the crash.
Insurance laws also apply to the state. In Georgia, the auto insurance minimums are:
- $25,000 for bodily injury per person
- $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
Even if a driver is from another state, they must have the minimum liability coverage for the accident state. Most of the time, the driver’s insurance company will adjust to the current state’s minimums. However, the driver should still have the minimum auto insurance for their state.
Georgia is also a comparative fault state. That means more than one driver can be at fault for a single accident. If a driver is less than 50% at fault, they can recover some compensation for their damages.
The driver’s compensation will depend on their percentage of fault. If a driver is 50% or more at fault, they cannot recover damages.
to find a John Foy office near you
Suing an Out-of-State Driver
If the at-fault driver returns to their state, you can still pursue compensation. You might be able to file a lawsuit where the driver lives. The details will depend on each state’s laws.
The first step is usually to file an insurance claim for compensation. A lawyer can help you build and file the strongest claim possible. If the insurance company offers you too little, your lawyer can work to negotiate.
Most out-of-state accidents end with a settlement. However, sometimes the insurance company won’t settle. If that happens, filing a lawsuit might be the best option. To learn what options are best for you, call our lawyers at (404) 400-4000 for a free consultation.
Roswell Out-of-State Drivers Accident Lawyer Near Me 404-400-4000
Drunk Driving and Out-of-State Accidents
There are many ways a driver might cause an accident in another state. Unfortunately, drunk driving is a common cause of serious accidents. If an out-of-state driver was driving under the influence (DUI) and caused your accident, you can pursue legal action.
Call a lawyer today after a drunk driving accident. If the driver is convicted of DUI, that will help support your case. However, it can get complicated if the driver is charged in a different state from yours. These are details your lawyer can help you iron out and understand.
What to Do After an Out-of-State Car Accident
No matter where your accident happens, there are ways you can begin building your case. The key is to document the accident and your damages as fully as possible.
For a free legal consultation with a out-of-state drivers accidents lawyer serving Roswell, call 404-400-4000
Call the Police
After the accident, check on everyone involved, then call the police. Also, don’t leave the scene. According to the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (OCGA) §40-6-270, it’s illegal to leave the scene of an accident in Georgia.
When the police arrive, tell them what you remember about the accident. If the driver was being negligent in some way, tell officers the details. Make sure they create an accident report so that you can get a copy.
If you need emergency medical attention, have the police send an ambulance to the scene. Your well-being is the number one priority. If you need treatment, don’t hesitate to get it.
Document the Scene
Gather whatever information you can from the scene. Keep in mind that details and memories fade quickly over time. With that in mind, do the following if you can:
- Exchange full names, contact information, and insurance information with the other driver. This is especially important if the driver is from another state. You’ll need to know how to get a hold of them and their insurance if they leave the area.
- Take pictures of the accident scene and your injuries. Use your phone or a camera to get different shots of the scene and the damages. These pictures will help support your claim.
- Contact a lawyer. Reach out to a lawyer who handles out-of-state accidents as soon as possible. An experienced lawyer can start working on your case immediately.
It’s best to start as soon as you can after an out-of-state driver accident. These cases can get complicated, especially if the driver leaves the state and lives far away. If you’re not sure what to do, contact a Roswell out-of-state driver accident lawyer today.
Talk to a Roswell Out-of-State Drivers Accident Lawyer Today
A collision with a driver from another state can be tricky. However, you have rights if you were not at fault. You might be entitled to compensation from the driver who caused your accident.
At John Foy & Associates, we can help. We know how to handle cases with drivers who are not from this area. Reach out today to discuss the details with your team. We’ll help you create a plan of action and make sure you file within the deadline.
To get a FREE consultation today, call (404) 400-4000 or contact us online. We do not charge a fee unless we win you money. Plus, we are available 24/7 for your convenience.