Hit and runs are some of the most frustrating and devastating accidents in Roswell. If the other driver caused your accident, they are responsible for the costs—but what if they flee the scene, leaving you with no way to identify them? If this has happened to you, it’s time to take action by calling a Roswell hit and run accident lawyer.
At John Foy & Associates, we are a personal injury law firm dedicated to helping injured Georgians get the compensation they need and deserve. We have been helping our clients for over 20 years, and we can assist you with your case, too. A hit and run accident can feel hopeless, but we will do our best to get the necessary details for you.
Call us today and we’ll get you started with a FREE consultation. There is no risk to you because we won’t charge you a fee unless we win you money. Call (404) 400-4000 or contact us online to get started for FREE today.
Why Hit and Run Accidents Are So Serious
According to Georgia Code section 40-6-273, if you are a driver involved in an accident with any injury, death, or $500 or more in property, you must report the accident to the local police as soon as possible. (If the accident happens outside of a municipality, you should report the accident to the county sheriff’s office or the closest state patrol office.)
After being involved in an accident, you should also stop at the scene and:
- Provide your name, address, driver’s license, and vehicle registration number;
- Render any reasonable assistance to anyone injured in the accident; and
- Remain at the scene until the accident has been reported, police have responded, information has been exchanged, and aid has been rendered.
When someone performs a hit and run, it means they have left the scene without pulling over or reporting the accident. This is a serious crime.
Consequences of a Hit and Run Accident
A lot of drivers who perform a hit and run are doing so in an effort to avoid other wrongdoings. The driver might have an expired driver’s license, have a DUI charge, not be carrying insurance, or even be operating a stolen vehicle. They are afraid of what will happen if they stay at the scene and the police identify them.
No matter what, the at-fault driver should be held accountable for their actions, especially if they leave the scene. If the accident causes serious injuries or death, the hit and run driver can be convicted of a felony crime resulting in one to five years in prison.
If any injuries (other than serious injuries) result from the accident, the driver can be charged with a misdemeanor and:
- Between $300 and $1,000 in fines, up to 12 months in prison, or both for a first conviction;
- Between $600 and $1,000 in fines, up to 12 months in prison, or both for a second conviction within five years; and
- A fine of $1,000, up to 12 months in prison, or both for three or more convictions within five years.
If you were injured because another driver hit you and fled the scene, you should not have to pay for their negligence. You have the right to seek compensation for the damages you’ve suffered.
To know your full legal options and get a FREE consultation, call John Foy & Associates at (404) 400-4000 or contact us online today.
Common Damages in a Roswell Hit and Run Case
After being injured in a hit and run accident, you can seek financial recovery for your damages. Those damages may include:
- Doctor and hospital bills
- Prescription medications
- Physical therapy
- Lost wages
- Vehicle damage
- Pain and suffering damages
- Punitive damages
Punitive damages are only available in certain types of accident cases where there was malicious, wanton, or reckless behavior. These damages are meant to punish the wrongdoer above all else. Since a hit and run is a very negligent disregard for the other driver, you may be able to pursue punitive damages in your case.
Your personal injury claim can include all of the damages you’ve suffered as a result of the at-fault driver’s actions. However, the problem with hit and run cases is that you may not know the identity of the responsible driver. If you do not know who caused your accident, you won’t know who to bring your case against.
Thankfully, a Roswell hit and run lawyer can work to determine the driver’s identity. If the driver is found, your lawyer can help you bring a case against them for all of the damages you’ve suffered.
Uninsured Motorist Insurance Coverage
Unfortunately, finding a hit and run driver is often difficult. You will have the best chance of identifying them while working with an experienced lawyer, but if they cannot be found, you still have some options.
Chances are good that you have uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) coverage through your own auto insurance company. Although this coverage is optional, you probably purchased it with your policy unless you specifically opted out.
UM/UIM coverage helps cover the costs of your accident if you get into a collision with someone who either does not have insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance to cover your damages. It’s also an option if your driver fled the scene, as they are now considered as an uninsured driver.
How to Handle the Moments and Days After a Hit and Run Accident in Roswell
After a hit and run accident in Roswell, legally protecting yourself is very important. You can do so through actions like:
- Trying to get pieces of information about the driver before they flee, such as recording their license plate number, noting the make and model of their vehicle, and identifying what they look like;
- Calling the police right away after the hit and run happens;
- Getting medical attention as soon as possible;
- Talking to any eyewitnesses who might have additional information about the driver; and
- Contacting an experienced hit and run lawyer.
Things can feel very frustrating and uncertain after a hit and run accident. To make sure you are taking the best actions for your rights, contact an experienced lawyer today. They can guide you through each step of the process.
Talk to a Roswell Hit and Run Accident Lawyer at No Cost Today
At John Foy & Associates, we are proud to represent accident victims in Georgia who need help seeking the compensation they truly deserve. We can help you build a strong case and fight for your rights, even if the other driver fled.
Contact us today and we’ll discuss the details of your case during a FREE consultation. WE do not charge a fee unless we win you money, so there is no risk in getting started. Call (404) 400-4000 or contact us online to schedule your FREE consultation today.