Teenage drivers in Stonecrest are less experienced than most adult drivers. For this reason and more, teens are more likely to get into accidents. If you or a loved one were hurt in an accident with a teen driver, our legal team can help.
You might need help from a Stonecrest teen driving accident lawyer. At John Foy & Associates, our attorneys know how to build strong injury claims. We know how to fight for the legal compensation you deserve.
After a teen driving accident, call the “Strong Arm.” Get a FREE consultation with our team by calling (404) 400-4000. You can also fill out our online contact form.
Common Causes of Teen Accidents in Stonecrest
Teen drivers are most likely to make careless mistakes. Teens are still developing in many ways. They won’t have the same maturity level as other drivers on Stonecrest roads.
Common reasons for teen driving accidents include:
- Texting while driving
- Talking on the phone while driving
- Getting distracted by car passengers
- Looking in the mirror or grooming
- Driving late at night
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Aggressive or reckless driving
- Excessive speeding
- Weaving in and out of lanes
Teen drivers might also not know how to handle an accident. For example, some young motorists will try to leave the scene to avoid the consequences. They might even attempt to shift the blame for an accident.
After an accident with a teen driver:
- Stay calm.
- Make sure the teen stays at the scene and exchanges information. If the teen driver flees the scene, don’t chase them.
- Try to gather what information you can, and call the police.
to find a John Foy office near you
Teen Driving License Laws
Teenagers must complete several steps before getting a license. Drivers between ages 15 and 18 must complete a program called the Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA), according to the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).
There are three steps to TADRA:
1. Learner’s Permit
Drivers must first earn their learner’s permit. Fifteen-year-old drivers have to complete a written exam to get this permit.
A driver with a learner’s permit can only drive with someone who is 21 or older in the passenger seat. The passenger must also have a full adult license.
2. Intermediate License
Once a teen reaches age 16, they can receive an intermediate license. The teen must have:
- Had their learner’s permit for at least 12 months
- Passed a driving test
Drivers with this license have restrictions:
- No driving between midnight and five in the morning
- No passengers who are not family members in the first six months
- No more than one passenger below the age of 21 after the first six months
- No more than three passengers below age 21 after the second six months
A 16-year-old with an intermediate license must also:
- Finish at least 40 hours of supervised driving (including six of those hours at night)
- Complete driver’s ed course that the DDS approves
3. Full License
When a teen driver turns 18, they can get a full adult driver’s license. The teen cannot have any traffic violations for 12 months before getting their license.
Teens must complete multiple steps to get a full license. Still, many people believe there should be more. Teen driving accidents are still too common and dangerous in Georgia.
If you were injured in a teen driving accident, you have rights. Contact an experienced Stonecrest lawyer to know your legal options. To learn more during a FREE consultation, call John Foy & Associates at (404) 400-4000.
Stonecrest Teen Driving Accident Lawyer Near Me 404-400-4000
Family Purpose Doctrine and Teen Accidents
When the at-fault driver is below 18, the Family Purpose Doctrine can apply. Under this doctrine, an injured person might be able to sue the teen driver’s parents for damages.
A teen’s parents likely provided a car for their child to drive. If the teen causes an accident, the parents could be legally liable.
Teen drivers rarely have assets after an accident. This can make it impossible for an injured person to recover damages. The teen will also not have a personal insurance policy. The Family Purpose Doctrine lets an injured person possibly recover what they deserve.
Recoverable Damages from a Teen Accident
Georgia is a fault state. If someone causes an injury, they might be liable for the costs. The same applies to auto accidents.
If a teen driver was at fault, they or their parents could be liable. You, as the injured party, can file a claim or lawsuit for damages like:
- Medical bills
- Prescription medications
- Future medical treatment
- Lost wages
- Loss of future income
- Vehicle repairs or replacement
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
Some damages are more straightforward than others. For example, medical bills and lost income will have set dollar amounts. You can reasonably prove these losses.
Pain and suffering damages are harder to demonstrate. You will need to put a monetary value on these “injuries,” even if they are not tangible. Thankfully, a Stonecrest teen driving accident lawyer can use a formula to determine these damages.
Calculating your damages will help you know what settlement you deserve. However, coming up with an accurate number is challenging. It’s best to work with a lawyer who understands how to value a claim.
For a free legal consultation with a teen driving accidents lawyer serving Stonecrest, call 404-400-4000
What a Teen Driving Accident Lawyer Can Do
After an accident with a teen driver, you might not know where to turn. There are many steps you should take to build a strong injury claim. An experienced lawyer can help you with each one.
A lawyer can help by:
- Gathering evidence from the accident
- Calculating your total damages
- Handling the insurance companies for you
- Negotiating for the settlement you deserve
- Fighting for the compensation you deserve
Talk to a Stonecrest Teen Driving Accident Lawyer Today
Teen accidents can cause some of the most severe injuries. If you or a loved one were victims, the aftermath can be life-altering. You might be eligible for full compensation for what you’ve lost.
At John Foy & Associates, we can help you bring a personal injury claim after a teen driving accident. Our team has over 20 years of experience helping accident victims and their families. To learn more about your options, contact us for a free consultation.
Call (404) 400-4000 or contact us online for a FREE consultation. We are available 24/7 to take your call.