An Uber or Lyft accident can happen when you least expect it. Suddenly, you’re dealing with injuries, lost income, emotional trauma, and more. But if you or a loved one were victims, you have legal protections to cover your costs.
Rideshare accidents are complicated. For example, the driver’s ride status during the crash might determine which insurance company covers your costs. It can also affect how much coverage is available. To ensure you know your options, talk to an Uber and Lyft rideshare accident lawyer.
John Foy & Associates has 20-plus years of experience helping accident victims. Learn more during a free consultation. Call us at (404) 400-4000 or contact us online.
What to Do After an Uber or Lyft Accident
If you’re involved in an Uber or Lyft accident, here are some actions to take.
Get Medical Attention
Some accidents cause life-threatening injuries. If you need immediate help, call 911 for an ambulance. Your well-being is the number one priority after a collision.
If you don’t need treatment immediately, see a doctor after you leave the scene. Don’t wait too long, or it will hurt your case. Even if you feel okay, see a doctor who can check you for any underlying issues.
Report the Accident
Each state has slightly different laws for reporting accidents. In Georgia, under Georgia Code § 40-6-273, you must report any collision with:
- Physical injuries
- At least $500 in property damage
Call 911 to report your accident. Police officers should respond and create an accident report on what happened. You’ll need to get a copy of this report for your records.
Do what you can to document the accident scene. This information will be helpful as you build a personal injury case for compensation:
- Pictures of your injuries and the vehicle damage
- Photos of the entire accident scene
- The names and contact information for witnesses
- The Uber or Lyft driver’s contact and insurance information
- Any other notes on things you remember about the crash
Contact an Experienced Uber or Lyft Rideshare Lawyer
Rideshare accident claims are complicated. If you didn’t cause the accident, you can probably file an insurance claim to recover your costs. But there are many steps to take first.
A trusted lawyer will know what to do. They’ll use any information you gather to begin building your case. Your lawyer will also protect your rights and make sure nothing is used against you.
Insurance Coverage for Uber and Lyft Car Accidents
Insurance for rideshare drivers is more complex than for the average driver. Both Uber and Lyft provide different types of coverage, depending on the driver’s status.
Here’s how it works according to Uber’s driver-partner insurance. The below details apply when the Uber or Lyft driver is at fault for an accident.
Driver Is Offline During the Accident
Most Uber and Lyft drivers use their vehicles for personal reasons, too. If a driver is not online to take rides, they are covered by their own auto insurance. So, you would file a claim with the driver’s personal insurance if they caused the accident.
Driver Is Available or Waiting for a Request
If the driver causes an accident while available in the app but waiting for a ride request, their personal insurance applies first. However, some insurance companies won’t cover ridesharing accidents.
If the driver’s insurance doesn’t apply, Uber offers the following coverage:
- $50,000 in bodily injury per person
- $100,000 in bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage per accident
Driver Is Picking Up or Transporting a Passenger
If a driver is heading to pick up a passenger or has a passenger in their vehicle, the company’s full insurance applies. Both Uber and Lyft offer up to $1 million in third-party liability if the driver is at fault.
If another driver caused the accident and is uninsured, Uber also offers uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM) insurance. This coverage might help you if you were hurt as a passenger.
As you can see, insurance is complicated with a rideshare accident. Also, a $1 million policy doesn’t guarantee full compensation. It’s best to talk with a lawyer who can uphold your rights from the beginning.
Damages to Claim After a Rideshare Accident
If you suffered injuries in a Lyft or Uber accident you didn’t cause, you have rights. If you live in a fault state like Georgia, you can turn to the driver’s insurance for compensation. But first, you’ll need to know all of your damages.
Personal injury damages are losses from the accident like:
- Past and future medical bills
- Pain and suffering
- Lost wages
- Loss of earning capacity
- Loss of enjoyment of life
An accident affects your life in many ways—financially, physically, and emotionally. If you didn’t cause the crash, you shouldn’t have to bear the burden. This is where a personal injury claim comes in.
You can request money to recover your accident costs. But the insurance companies don’t make it easy. Even when there is a $1 million policy, the insurer will look for ways to pay you less.
You can protect your rights by working with an Uber and Lyft rideshare accident lawyer. At John Foy & Associates, we approach each case with compassion and expertise. We believe in full compensation for what you’ve lost. Call us at (404) 400-4000 or contact us online for a free consultation.
Gathering Evidence from the Uber or Lyft Accident
If your rideshare driver was careless in any way, there are ways to gather evidence. Most companies keep records of their drivers’ actions while on the job. This information might help support your case.
Rideshare drivers can be careless like other drivers. For example, maybe the driver was on their phone, driving aggressively, or under the influence. If you saw negligent behavior, contact a lawyer immediately. You’ll need to get gathering proof of the driver’s actions as soon as possible.
Talk to an Uber and Lyft Rideshare Accident Lawyer Today
If you suffered injuries in an accident involving an Uber or Lyft driver, you have legal rights. Talk to a lawyer today about how you can seek compensation. At John Foy & Associates, we’re here to help.
We have over 20 years of experience helping accident victims. Also, we don’t charge you a fee unless we win you money.
Call us at (404) 400-4000 or contact us online for a free consultation today.