The Georgia DDS point system can keep you accountable on the road. However, if you’re not careful, you could lose your license by accumulating too many points. Find out how the DDS point system works and what a lawyer can do to help you if you’re facing traffic violations.
How the Georgia DDS Point System Works
When a driver is convicted of any traffic violation, the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) adds points to their driving history. If a certain number of points are accumulated with a period of time, the driver’s license can be suspended, revoked, or canceled.
Points Assigned By Violation Type
If you’re convicted of a traffic violation, the DDS will add anywhere between one and six points to your driving record. Here’s how the points are given based on the violation:
- Aggressive driving: 6 points
- Unlawfully passing a school bus: 6 points
- Reckless driving: 4 points
- Improper passing on a hill or curve: 4 points
- Speeding: two points for speeding between 15-18 mph over the speed limit; three points for 19-23 mph over; four points for 24-33 mph over; and six points for 34 mph or more
- Failure to obey police officer: 3 points
- Failure to obey a traffic-control device: 3 points
- Failure to adequately secure load resulting in an accident: 2 points
- Possessing an open alcoholic beverage container while driving: 2 points
- Violation of child safety restraint: 1 point for a first offense; 2 points for subsequent offenses
- Operating a vehicle while texting: 1 point
- Violating the usage of wireless telecommunication device requirements: 1 point
- Improper use of designated travel lane: 1 point for fourth or more offenses
If you were speeding less than 15 mph over the limit without other violations, no points will be added to your record.
How Accumulating Georgia DDS Points Works
If you accumulate 15 points on your driving record within a 24-month period, the Georgia DDS can suspend your driver’s license. This is the guideline for adult drivers. Those under 21 have stricter rules.
Drivers under the age of 21 can get their license suspended if they are convicted of:
- Reckless driving, racing, or aggressive driving
- Drunk driving, purchasing alcohol, or misrepresenting age or I.D.
- Four or more points from unlawfully or improperly passing a school bus
- Speeding by 24 mph or more
- Eluding an officer
- Or a hit and run accident
Georgia drivers below the age of 18 can have their license suspended if they accumulate only four points or more from any violation.
How Long Do Georgia DDS Points Stay On Your Record?
Although “earning” points is a good thing in other contexts, the Georgia DDS point system is not something you want to be involved with often. Points are recorded when you violate certain traffic laws, and they can stay on your record for two years from the date they are added.
Reducing Georgia DDS Points and Reinstating License
Georgia drivers with a license are legally allowed to request a points reduction of up to seven points every five years. To do this, you must take a certified defensive driving course (known as Driver Improvement) and successfully obtain a certificate of completion.
You will need to mail this certificate to the Georgia DDS or provide it in person at a local DDS center to request a point reduction. If you’re trying to get your driver’s license reinstated, this certificate is also required along with a letter requesting reinstatement requirements. The letter should include the same name on your driver’s license, your license number, date of birth, mailing address, and your signature.
Our Law Office Can Help If You’ve Been Involved in an Accident
Have you been injured in a car accident involving a traffic violation? John Foy & Associates can help you seek compensation. Call us for a FREE consultation at 404-400-4000 or fill out the online form.