The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) uses a point system for drivers who have violated traffic laws. If you receive a moving violation, police will notify the DDS and add points to your driving record based on the violation severity. If you receive too many points, your driver’s license can get suspended, revoked, or even canceled.
Our attorneys can defend you against a traffic infraction before you incur points on your license. Contact us today for a free consultation to discuss.
How Many Points Is a Driver Allowed on Their License in Georgia?
According to Georgia law, you are allowed 15 points on your license in a 24-month period before it gets suspended. However, there are certain situations where your license may be suspended sooner, such as:
- If you commit a serious driving violation like drunk-driving or reckless driving
- If you are under 21 and commit an offense worth four points on your license
In Georgia, if you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), the arresting officer can petition the Georgia DDS to suspend your license if they read you the implied consent notice and you said nothing, refused to take a breath, blood, or urine test, or are found to have more than .08 blood alcohol content or drugs in your system.
In other situations, license suspension also depends on when you receive the points. License points come off your driving record after two years from the date they were added, so some points may stay on your record longer. That’s why 15 total must be accrued within 24 months to lead to suspension.
Points Based on Moving Violations
If you commit a moving violation, it’s important to know how many points it will add to your Georgia license. Points for each violation range from one to six, and serious violations add more points.
Points are given in the following ways in Georgia
- Passing a school bus unlawfully: 6 points
- Aggressive driving: 6 points
- Improper passing on a hill or curve: 4 points
- Reckless driving: 4 points
- Speeding: 2-6 points (depending on how many miles over the speed limit you were driving)
- Failure to obey a traffic-control device: 3 points
- Failure to obey a police officer: 3 points
- Violation of child safety restraint: 1 point for a first offense; 2 points for subsequent offenses
- Possessing an open alcoholic beverage container while driving: 2 points
- Failure to adequately secure load resulting in an accident: 2 points
- Driving while texting: 1 point
- Violating wireless telecommunication device usage requirements: 1 point
- Improper use of designated travel lane: 1 point (if it’s a fourth or greater offense)
to find a John Foy office near you
What Happens if You Exceed the Allowed Points on Your License?
As mentioned above, your license will be suspended if you have more than 15 points within 24 months. Driving is a privilege, not a right, so a suspension temporarily removes your driving privilege. Your license can be suspended for six months or more, and in some situations, it may be revoked or canceled.
Plus, you aren’t the only one who can check the number of points on your license. Auto insurance companies may check any driver’s record when they sign up for insurance coverage or policy renewal. If you have points on your record, the carrier can increase your premium (by a lot) or even deny your coverage.
What if You’re a Commercial Driver?
If you drive a commercial vehicle for a living, your employer or potential employers can check your record. That means you can potentially lose your job or miss out on future employment opportunities. Employers will be afraid to hire drivers they believe are a risk.
How Do You Find Out the Total Points on Your License?
It’s best to routinely check your driving record, especially if you’ve received a ticket for more than one moving violation in the past two years. It can also help you remember when points were added and when they’ll fall off.
You can do this by requesting a copy of your Driving History Report (MVR) online, in person at a local DDS Customer Service location, or by mail. You will need to pay either a $6.00 or $8.00 dollar fee, depending on whether you need a record of the past three or seven years.
If you request a copy of your record online, you can either obtain a viewable-only version (that you can access for 30 days and can’t download) or a certified version that will be printed and physically sent to you in the mail. The first option is best if you don’t need a copy for any official reasons.
Contact an attorney today for help
At John Foy & Associates, we know accidents can happen—but they have consequences. We represent car accident victims now facing expensive injuries and property damage because of another driver’s mistakes. If you or a loved one was injured because of a negligent driver, contact an Atlanta car accident lawyer today for a FREE consultation at 404-400-4000.