The Georgia License Points System through the Georgia Department of Driving Services (DDS) adds points to a driver’s license if they are convicted of moving violations like aggressive driving, reckless driving, or speeding. The amount of points depends on the specific details of the conviction. Georgia drivers can also request points reductions to have their records assessed periodically.
Learn the details of how drivers may get points on their license, the penalties for points, and how you could be able to reduce points. If you have questions after an accident, a personal injury lawyer could answer them.
How Many Points is My Violation Worth?
As you might assume, more serious convictions lead to higher points on a driver’s license. The points range from one to six depending on the conviction:
- Aggressive driving: 6 points
- Unlawfully passing a school bus: 6 points
- Reckless driving: 4 points
- Improper passing on a hill or curve: 4 points
- Speeding: 2-6 points (see below)
- Failure to obey police officer: 3 points
- Failure to obey traffic-control device: 3 points
- Failure to adequately secure load resulting in an accident: 2 points
- Possessing an open alcoholic beverage container while driving: 2 points
- Violation of child safety restraint: 1 point for first offense; 2 points for subsequent offenses
- Driving while texting: 1 point
- Violating usage of wireless telecommunication device requirements: 1 point
- Improper use of designated travel lane: 1 point for fourth or more offenses
The license points for a speeding conviction depend on the degree of speeding. The state of Georgia assessess two points for speeding 15-18 mph over the speed limit, three points for 19-23 mph over, four points for 24-33 mph over, and six points for 34 or more mph over the speed limit.
If the driver is speeding less than 15 miles per hour (mph) over the posted speed limit or is convicted of driving too fast for conditions, no points are added. If the driver is not a resident of Georgia, they do not receive any points.
Any other moving violations not mentioned above will add three points.
Get the strong arm
What Happens if I Get Points on my License in Georgia?
If a driver is convicted of a violation, pleads guilty, or pleads no contest, police will let the DMV known about the charge. They will then add the points to the driver’s license.
If a driver accumulates 15 points on their license within 24 months, their driver’s license will be suspended until they complete a six-hour defensive driving course. And if this happens a second time within five years, they’ll need to complete the same program again.
However, if that driver is under the age of 21, just one moving violation worth four or more points leads to a license suspension for at least six months. And if the driver is less than 18 years old who accumulates at least four points within 12 months, the state will suspend their license for six months and they must complete the defensive driving course before they can get driving privileges reinstated.
These points can sometimes follow a driver to a different state if they move. Some states will share these details. Even if your new state doesn’t know about your Georgia license points, any tickets will stay on your record.
How to Reduce Points on a Georgia License
According to the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (OCGA) § 40-5-86, a driver can ask DDS for a points reduction on their license up to seven points once every five years. But there are certain criteria they must meet before they can request a reduction. They will need to successfully finish a certified Driver Improvement (also known as defensive driving) course and obtain a certificate of completion. The driver should present this certificate to the DDS either in person or by mail.
A Georgia driver could also avoid receiving points at all after a moving violation. Many judges will offer the chance to complete a six-hour program to dismiss or not even process a ticket in the first place. If the ticket is dismissed, there will be no effect on the driver’s record. This is good in many ways, as insurance companies won’t know about the ticket so it won’t affect insurance rates.
Speak to a Car Accident Lawyer in Georgia for Free
If you were injured in a crash because of someone else’s traffic violation, a car accident lawyer may be able to help you get full compensation of your costs—whether the at-fault driver is convicted or not. At John Foy & Associates can help you with the insurance claim process and fight for the best settlement possible. For a FREE consultation to discuss your case, call us today at 404-400-4000 or complete the online form to get started.
404-400-4000 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form