In Georgia, exceeding the speed limit and driving at a speed greater than is “reasonable and prudent” based on road conditions is against the law. But the penalties for speeding depend on how fast the accused driver is going. If they are going fast enough, the consequences might fall under Georgia’s “super speeder” law.
What Is the Georgia Super Speeder Law?
A super speeder is a driver convicted of:
- Speeding at 75 mph or more one two-lane road OR
- Speeding at 85 mph or more on any road or highway
The Georgia super speeder law began in 2010, and it leaves someone deemed a super speeder with higher penalties than a “regular” speeding ticket.
to find a John Foy office near you
Penalties and Fees Under the Super Speeder Law
Under the super speeder law, a convicted driver must also pay a $200 state fee.
If the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) is notified that the driver exceeded 75 mph on a two-lane road or highway or 85 mph on any road or highway, they will send first-class mail to the driver letting them know about the $200 fee. This could be a surprise, as not all officers will mention the driver’s new super speeder status.
Paying the Fee and License Suspension
If the driver does not pay this fee within 120 days of being notified, their license or driving privileges will be suspended. If that happens, they will also need to pay a $50 fee on top of the $200 super speeder fee to get their license or driving privileges reinstated.
If a driver receives more than one super speeder conviction, there will be an individual super speeder fee for each conviction. The driver will also have to pay a separate $50 reinstatement fee for every super speeder fee that was not paid.
Both super speeder fees and reinstatement fees can be paid by mail in person at the DDS, or on their website.
Car Insurance Rates After Super Speeder Status
A super speeder conviction will likely stay on a driver’s car insurance policy for a while—typically, about 35 months. That means the premium will probably increase too.
Super Speeder Versus Standard Ticket Penalties
Besides super speeder fees, there are certain fees and fines a driver must pay for any type of speeding violation.
There is no fine for speeding five mph or less over the speed limit, but more than five miles over (but less than 10 mph over) comes with a fine of $25. This increases with the degree of speeding a driver is accused of, all the way up to $1,000. The main exception is if someone speeds in a highway work zone, which can result in up to $2,000 in fines and/or up to a year in jail.
Can You Get Jail Time for a Super Speeder Charge?
Although speeding violations are usually misdemeanors in Georgia, most don’t result in any jail time for the driver.
If someone is caught being a super speeder, they will have to pay that fee on top of any standard speeding ticket fees.
Super Speeder Penalties for Out-of-State Drivers
If a driver resides outside of Georgia but is pulled over for super speeding, the penalties are almost the same. That driver will still receive a notice of the super speeder fee, which can be paid online through the DDS.
If the fee is not paid within 120 days, the DDS will:
- Put a suspension on the driver’s non-resident driving privileges in the State of Georgia
- And report the suspension to the licensing authority in the state where the driver lives
From there, it would be up to the driver’s home state to decide whether additional action will be taken or penalties imposed.
Does Violating the Super Speeder Law Add Points to Your Driving Record?
Simply being deemed a super speeder does not add additional points to a driver’s record. Neither does non-payment of fees or a license suspension from not paying. However, getting caught speeding can affect the points on your license.
If a driver is caught going 15 mph above the speed limit (which would be considered super speeder status), they’ll have two points put on their license. For 30 mph over the speed limit, that increases to four points. If the driver is speeding at 34 mph or above, six points will be put on their license.
The Georgia super speeder law is put in place to discourage drivers from exceeding speed limits and putting others in danger. All drivers have a duty to keep others from harm, and being a super speeder is an act of negligence related to that duty.
For a free legal consultation, call 404-400-4000
Do You Need an Attorney if You’ve Been in a Super Speeder Accident?
It’s always a good idea to hire an attorney if you’ve been in an accident. Not only can an attorney protect your rights but they can also review your claim to ensure you’re fighting for everything you’re entitled to. You don’t want to settle your case and then learn after the fact that you missed out on damages you could have otherwise sought compensation for.
Contact Our Team Today for a Free Consultation
If you or a loved one was injured because of a super speeder, you may be entitled to compensation for what you lost. John Foy & Associates can help. We’ve been representing accident victims for more than 20 years, and we know what it takes to win cases. Call us today at 404-400-4000 or complete the online form on this page.