In Georgia, a super speeder has been convicted of speeding at 75 mph or above on a two-lane road or at least 85 mph on a highway or road. Since Georgia’s super speeder law went into effect in 2010, speeding too far above the speed limit can leave you with more penalties than a normal speeding ticket.
No driver wants to be defined as a “super speeder”—because it comes with steep consequences. It can also be dangerous for other drivers. If a super speeder was responsible for your car crash, a car accident lawyer in Georgia can help you get compensation.
Penalties of the Super Speeder Law Vs a Standard Ticket
Most speeding violations in the State of Georgia are treated as misdemeanors. If you get a standard speeding ticket in Georgia, you’re looking at a fine and various fees depending on how much above the speed limit you were going:
- 0 for speeding five miles per hour or less
- 25 for speeding more than five but less than 10 miles per hour
- 100 for speeding over ten less than 14 miles per hour
- 125 for speeding more than 14 but less than 19 miles per hour
- 150 for speeding by at least 19 but less than 24 miles per hour
- 500 for exceeding the limit by at least 24 but no more than 34 miles per hour
If you are caught speeding in a highway work zone, you can face a fine anywhere from $100 to $2000 and/or up to a year in jail.
You’ll also face various fees imposed by the judge on top of the fine for standard speeding.
Super Speeder Fines
According to the Official Code of Georgia (OCGA) § 40-6-189, if you are a super speeder, you’ll face an additional state fee of $200 on top of the standard listed above. If you don’t pay this fee within 120 days of receiving the bill, your license or driving privileges will be suspended. To have your license or privileges reinstated, you’ll have to pay a $50 reimbursement fee on top of the $200 super speeder fee you already owe.
Points on Your Driver’s License
Going 15 mph over the speed limit (which would qualify you as a super speeder) will also put two points on your license. If you were going 30 mph over the speed limit, four points will be added to your license. For speeding 34 mph or more, it increases to six points.
The $200 super speeder ticket might be a surprise to you, as the officer who gives you the standard speeding ticket may not mention it. You’ll likely get the super speeder bill in the mail from the State of Georgia.
Rising Car Insurance Rates
Speeding 30 mph or more will also almost definitely increase your car insurance premium, as well. And a speeding violation like the super speeder conviction will stay on your policy for a long time—generally, around 35 months.
If you get tagged as a super speeder, you can either pay the fines and fees and accept the likely higher insurance rates or hire a lawyer to fight the charge. Depending on the circumstances, your attorney may be able to negotiate the ticket down and reduce the long-term effects of having the super speeder label on your record.
What if I Was Injured Because of a Super Speeder?
If you were hurt in a car accident because the other driver was speeding, you may be entitled to financial recovery for your losses. Car accident attorneys John Foy & Associates can help. For a FREE consultation to discuss your case, call us today at 404-400-4000, or fill out the form on this page.