Teen drivers in Alpharetta are risky simply because they are new to driving. Younger drivers are more likely to make careless mistakes that cause accidents. If a young driver injured you or a loved one, talk to an Alpharetta teen driving accident lawyer today.
John Foy & Associates is one of the largest and most trusted law firms in Georgia. For over 20 years, we’ve helped injured Georgians seek the compensation they deserve. Working with us is risk-free because there is no charge unless we win for you.
Contact us today for a FREE consultation. To get started, call us at (404) 400-4000, or contact us online.
How Teenagers Get a License in Alpharetta
There are three stages to getting a Georgia driver’s license. Teen drivers must complete each step to get a full adult license. This is part of the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS)‘s Teenage and Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA).
Drivers between the ages of 15 and 18 must complete these steps.
1. Instructional Permit
All drivers under age 18 must first get a Class CP instruction permit. With this permit, teen drivers can practice driving with a licensed driver aged 21 or older.
To get an instructional permit, a teen driver must:
- Complete an application
- Verify their identity and personal information
- Pass a vision test
- Pass a knowledge exam (and pay $10 to take it)
2. Intermediate Driver’s License
The second step is the Class D provisional or intermediate license. With this license, teens can drive without a supervisor. However, they still have restrictions.
To get the intermediate license, a driver must:
- Complete a DDS-approved education course if the driver is younger than 17
- Have an instructional permit for at least a year
- Track at least 40 hours of supervised driving. At least six of those hours must be at night.
- Complete an Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) class
With an intermediate license, drivers cannot drive between 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. They also cannot drive with passengers during the first six months.
During the second six months, there can be no more than one passenger at a time. Then, the driver cannot have over three passengers who are not family members for another six months.
3. Adult Driver’s License
The last step is to get a Class C full driver’s license. A full driver’s license is an adult license.
Teen drivers must pay $32 to upgrade their intermediate license to an adult license. They will receive their license in the mail.
Even with the restrictions on teen drivers, they still cause more accidents. If a teenage driver caused your accident, you have rights. Talk to a lawyer about seeking compensation today.
The Dangers of Teen Drivers
Teen driving accidents are most likely to be severe. Teens are also more likely to drive recklessly, get a DUI, or flee an accident scene. There are many risks if a teen driver hits you.
Data from the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) show that:
- Teen drivers aged 16 to 19 are nearly three times more likely to be in a fatal crash than drivers aged 19 and older.
- Car accidents are the number one cause of death for U.S. teenagers.
- Auto accident injuries kill an average of six teens every day.
Texting is another dangerous habit of teenagers. While many adults text and drive too, it’s more common in teens. Young drivers might not fully realize the danger of distracted driving. They are more likely to text or engage in phone calls while driving.
Teen accidents tend to cost a lot more than the average crash. For this reason, insurance companies charge more for teen drivers. Parents can expect much higher rates if they have young drivers at home.
Insurance companies know that they are likely to have more claims with a teen driver. If a teenager caused your accident, you will need to file one of these claims.
Common Causes of Teen Driving Accidents
Here are some of the most likely causes of teen crashes:
- Talking on the phone
- Texting and driving
- Drowsy driving
- Reckless driving
- Aggressive behavior
- Distractions from teen passengers
- Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol
- Putting on makeup
- Careless driving mistakes
Many argue that the restrictions on teen drivers are still not enough. But unfortunately, that doesn’t erase an accident that already happened. Your next steps are to begin filing a personal injury claim.
Filing a Teen Driving Accident Claim
Teen drivers’ parents should have an insurance policy for their child. If a teen driver caused your accident, you can file a claim with the insurer. You will need to show that:
- The teen driver owed you a duty of care.
- The teen breached their duty of care.
- The breached duty caused your accident.
- You suffered damages because of the accident.
All drivers have a legal duty to drive carefully. That includes teenage drivers. If a teen driver acts carelessly and causes an accident, they are responsible. Your insurance claim will seek recovery for your costs.
Thankfully, proving a teen driving accident is often easier than an adult one. It’s common knowledge that young drivers are riskier. However, the insurance company will still make things difficult.
Insurance companies will look for ways to reduce what they pay. They might try to blame you or downplay your injuries. Protect yourself by contacting an Alpharetta teen driving accident lawyer today.
Speak with an Alpharetta Teen Driving Accident Lawyer for Free Today
John Foy & Associates has been helping accident victims for more than 20 years. We know what it takes to win teen accident cases. Plus, we do not charge you a fee unless we win your case.
If a teen driver injured you or a loved one, contact us today. We’ll discuss the details of your situation and how we can help. Our experienced and compassionate lawyers are here to assist you.
To schedule your FREE consultation today, call us at (404) 400-4000, or contact us online. We’ll match you with the best attorney for your needs.