Ridesharing services like Uber and Lyft are convenient, modern forms of travel in Johns Creek. A few taps on your smartphone can schedule a ride to you within minutes. While these apps have many benefits, they still come with risks, especially when a driver is careless and causes an accident. In this situation, it’s a good idea to consult with a Johns Creek ridesharing accident lawyer.
At John Foy & Associates, we have been helping accident victims for over 20 years. We can help you build a case and file a claim to pursue compensation for your damages after a ridesharing accident. To learn more and get a FREE, no-risk consultation, call us today at (404) 400-4000 or contact us online.
How Ridesharing Accident Victims Are Covered Under Insurance
When an accident happens between two “regular” drivers, the insurance claim process depends upon which driver is at fault:
- If Driver A side-swipes Driver B and causes a rollover accident.
- Under Georgia law, Driver A is liable for the damages because they caused the accident.
- Driver B can file a personal injury claim with Driver A’s insurance company seeking recovery for their medical bills, lost wages, vehicle repairs, and more.
When an accident involves a ridesharing driver, the insurance process is a little more complicated. How a claim is handled will depend on the driver’s working status during the accident. This is important to know because it will dictate where you file your claim.
When a driver signs up to drive for Uber or Lyft, they are required to carry their own auto insurance. In certain instances, they are also covered under the ridesharing company’s insurance policy.
Ridesharing Driver’s Insurance Coverage
Ridesharing drivers must cover the same insurance as other drivers. In Georgia, the minimum required insurance coverage is:
- Bodily Injury Liability coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident and
- Property Damage Liability coverage of $25,000 per accident.
If the ridesharing driver is using their vehicle for personal reasons and/or not currently accepting passengers through the app, their own auto insurance would apply if they caused an accident. As a victim of the accident, you would need to file a claim with the driver’s own insurance.
Ridesharing Company’s Insurance Coverage
If the ridesharing driver is “on the clock” and has a passenger in their car or is on their way to pick up a passenger, the ridesharing company’s insurance will typically apply if the driver causes an accident. Uber likes to point to its $1 million insurance policy for this type of situation, but it’s rarely that simple.
If you are involved in a ridesharing accident when the driver was on the clock, you’ll still want to contact a ridesharing accident lawyer as soon as you can. The insurance company will be prepared to fight hard to minimize what they pay, and without legal representation, that can leave you vulnerable.
When Both Insurance Policies Apply
In some situations, such as when a ridesharing driver is on the clock but has not yet accepted a passenger, a combination of insurance coverage might apply after the driver causes an accident. Typically, the driver’s insurance will apply and the ridesharing company’s coverage will cover what the driver’s insurance can’t.
Insurance companies are skilled at looking for ways to reduce what they have to pay on an injury claim. To protect your legal rights, it’s best to talk to an experienced lawyer in Johns Creek as soon as you can. To get a FREE consultation and discuss your legal options today, call us at (404) 400-4000 or contact us online.
to find a John Foy office near you
What to Do After a Ridesharing Accident in Johns Creek
If you are injured as another driver or a passenger in a ridesharing accident, it’s important to protect your legal rights from the beginning. The best course of action is to contact an experienced attorney, but there are other things you can do to begin building your case.
Call the Police
You should report any accident in Georgia if there are injuries, deaths, or $500 or more in property damage to at least one person (Georgia Code § 40-9-2).
When you contact the police, officers should create an accident report detailing the crash. This is important initial evidence for your case. It also helps prevents the other driver from making incorrect claims about the accident or fleeing the scene. So, call 911 and let authorities know that you were injured in an accident.
Get Information from the Driver
If you were a passenger in a ridesharing vehicle, ask for the following information from the driver:
- Full name
- Driver’s license number
- Insurance policy number
- Contact information
If you were another driver in the accident, exchange the above information with the ridesharing driver. It can also help to write down the make, model, color, and license plate number of the at-fault driver’s vehicle.
To preserve the scene as well as possible, use your phone or a camera to take pictures of the accident scene, your injuries, and your vehicle damage. This may act as vital evidence in your case.
Do Not Talk to the Driver’s Insurance Company
After the accident, the at-fault driver’s insurance company might try to reach out to you. This could be either the driver’s personal insurance company or the ridesharing company’s insurer. Either way, be very wary of any communication with them.
The insurance adjuster will look for ways to offer you much less than you deserve, intimidate you, or trick you into saying something that might be used against you. To protect yourself, we recommend working with a lawyer as soon as possible. It’s especially important to avoid communicating with the at-fault driver’s insurance company before talking to a lawyer.
Johns Creek Ridesharing Accident Lawyer Near Me 404-400-4000
Talk to a Johns Creek Ridesharing Accident Lawyer for Free Today
Get the help you need and deserve after being injured in a ridesharing accident in Johns Creek. You should not have to pay for your damages in an accident you did not cause. To discuss your best options for free, call John Foy & Associates.
We have been helping accident victims for over 20 years, and we do not charge you unless we win you a settlement or an award. So, it’s risk-free to work with us or reach out. Call (404) 400-4000 or contact us online to schedule your FREE consultation today.