Georgia is a fault state. That means that the driver who caused the accident should pay for all of the injuries or damage that the accident caused. To ensure that a driver has money to pay these losses, every driver in Georgia must have automobile liability insurance. If a driver doesn’t have this type of insurance, there is a very real possibility that they won’t have the funds available to pay for a collision because they can be costly.
What are the minimum levels of automobile liability insurance in Georgia?
You can have as much insurance coverage for your vehicle as you would like. But, you have to meet minimum levels to follow Georgia law. If you don’t have coverage up to these amounts, then you could be cited and fined by law enforcement.
The minimum levels of coverage in Georgia include:
- Bodily injury: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
- Property damage: $25,000 per person
The bodily injury limitation will stop at $50,000, even when there are more than two people involved.
Although $25,000 may seem like a lot of money, it adds up quickly when you have serious medical issues. Once that money runs out, you still have a legal claim against the driver—they just might not be able to pay for your losses. That is part of the reason that many people choose to carry insurance that has much higher policy limits.
Keep in mind that this coverage does not apply to your own injuries. If you want that type of insurance, you will likely need to get an additional policy from your insurance company, such as one that pays for medical expenses or property damage.
What does auto liability insurance cover?
Traditional insurance coverage for auto accidents includes virtually any type of loss that someone experiences after an accident. While the focus is generally on property damage and physical injuries, it can also pay for things like:
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Hospital bills
- Lost wages
- Loss of earning capacity in the future
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Loss of companionship
Essentially, auto liability insurance will address almost any loss that you can claim after a car accident. There are some exclusions in individual policies, but they are rare.
A vehicle owner’s liability coverage should apply even when they are not driving the car themselves. This is generally true as long as the person driving was either in the household of the vehicle’s owner or had the owner’s permission to drive the care.
Insurance companies often try to pay out at little as possible when someone makes an auto liability insurance claim. That can mean that they deny your claim altogether or only offer you a fraction of what your case is really worth. At John Foy & Associates, we have over 20 years of experience helping car accident victims get the money they need to get back on their feet after a car accident—and we can help you too. Fill out the form to your right or call us at 404-400-4000 to get your FREE consultation today.