After a vehicle accident, there are strict deadlines for filing a personal injury claim. One of the most crucial deadlines to meet is Georgia’s statute of limitations. Filing a claim outside of the statute of limitations can prevent you from obtaining the financial recovery you deserve.
What is Georgia’s statute of limitations for vehicle accidents? We have outlined all of the deadlines you need to meet when filing an accident claim in Georgia below.
Georgia’s Statute of Limitations for Car Accidents
State laws have different deadlines depending on the type of accident and damages you are seeking. For example, in Georgia, the various statute of limitations deadlines include:
- Six months: For filing auto accident claims involving a city or county vehicle (in most locations; some localities may have different deadlines).
- One year: For filing a lawsuit involving a state-owned vehicle.
- Two years: For filing accident claims that seek financial compensation.
- Four years: For seeking recovery for property damage only (no medical expenses).
In addition, there is a separate process if your claim involves a federal government vehicle, with an initial 2-year timeline.
to find a John Foy office near you
Other Deadlines for Filing Accident Claims in Georgia
Georgia’s statute of limitations is not the only deadline you must follow. At every step of the way, there are actions you need to take and timelines in which to take them, and sooner is always better than later.
In addition to adhering to the statute of limitations, car victims must also:
- Get an official police report: In many cases, it is mandatory to call the police to an accident scene so they can file an official report.
- Call your insurance company within 24 hours of the accident: You must report the accident to your insurance provider even if the other driver was at fault. Many insurance policies require that you do this immediately or as soon as physically possible after the accident.
- Seek medical care: If your injuries are minor, you should still schedule a doctor appointment within one week of the accident. Some symptoms (such as a traumatic brain injury) can take a few days to present themselves, and consulting with medical professionals ensures you receive fast treatment for your injuries.
Last, talk to a lawyer as soon as possible after the accident. A qualified lawyer will help you understand how much money you should expect from a settlement and how to get it. Most case reviews cost nothing, and partnering with a lawyer can help you secure maximum compensation from the insurance company.
Don’t Wait to File a Car Accident Claim in Georgia
The best way to ensure you receive the compensation you deserve after a vehicle accident is to file a claim as soon as possible. Filing your claim too late can be detrimental to your case. An insurance provider may deny you compensation, and if you try to bring the case to trial, the court will reject your claim.
By partnering with a Georgia car accident lawyer, you can rest easy knowing your claim with be processed on time.
Consult with a Car Accident Attorney in Georgia Now
John Foy & Associates is here to help car accident victims file their claims and build strong cases. Our process starts with a free consultation so we can evaluate your case. Call us at 404-400-4000 or fill out the online form to get started.