On July 1, 2018, the Hands-Free Law went into effect in Georgia. The law was passed by the Georgia Congress to help curb the number of traffic fatalities that are occurring due to distracted driving. The law states that a person driving a car cannot text while driving and must use a hands-free device if they are going to be speaking on a phone while driving. A first conviction of violating the law is a fine of $50 and 1 point on a license. The second offense is a $100 fine and 2 points while the third and subsequent convictions are a $150 fine and three points on the license.
The Moultrie Observer reports on a woman facing charges of homicide connected to an accident that police believe involved distracted driving.
26-year-old Monica Mae Cutts, of Tallahassee, Florida, was indicted on 9 counts on Tuesday in connection with an October 25th crash that killed 10-year-old Noah Palmer and injured his brother, Dylan Wolfe, 6.
Palmer and Wolfe were crossing Thigpen Trail to their school bus, which was stopped and had safety features engaged. Cutts, who was driving a 2008 Kia Sephia, failed to stop as required by law for the school bus.
Palmer yelled a warning to his brother and tried to push him out of the way. Wolfe suffered from a broken jaw while Palmer was taken by helicopter to a Macon hospital, where he succumbed to his injuries.
Cutts was indicted by grand jury on two counts of homicide by motor vehicle in the first degree, two counts of reckless driving, two counts of distracted driving, serious injury by vehicle, and driving on a suspended license.
She is currently being held in the Colquitt County Jail on a $100,000 bond.
Have you been injured in an accident? We can help. Call today.