It’s a crime in every state to leave the scene of an accident. In Georgia, the law states that drivers have a duty to stop or return to the site of a collision. If the crash results in serious injuries or death, the driver must immediately stop. Not doing so is considered the crime called hit-and-run.
A person convicted of hit-and-run can face between $300 to $1000 in fines in Georgia. They may also have to serve up to 12 months imprisonment. In the case of an accident with injuries or fatalities, the prison sentence can be between one and five years.
The Gwinnett Daily Post reports on a woman accused of a fatal hit and run.
While on the way to turn herself in last Monday night, 32-year-old Brittany Ashley was arrested on charges of hit-and-run resulting in serious injury or death and vehicular homicide.
The charges stem from an accident in which Ashley allegedly struck 38-year-old Kevin Brown as he attempted to cross Beaver Ruin Road on Saturday.
Brown was discovered after receiving a call that a male found in the roadway appeared to have been struck by a vehicle. Brown was transported to a local hospital where he later succumbed to his injuries.
Officers were able to determine that the vehicle involved was a 2013-2015 Nissan Sentra. The vehicle was missing the front grill and likely had damage to the front bumper, hood, and windshield.
Ashley’s car was discovered on Beaver Ruin Road and had damage consistent with the hit-and-run.
She is being held without bond at the Gwinnett County Jail.
Have you been injured in a hit-and-run accident? We can help. Call today.