A traffic accident can be a jarring experience for everyone involved. For some, it might even induce them to panic and flee the scene. In Georgia, the law requires that a person stop their vehicle after an accident and exchange necessary information. It is also recommended that the police be called so that a police report can determine fault. Georgia law provides penalties for those who flee from the scene of an accident. It is a misdemeanor charge if there are no serious injuries or death. Serious injuries and death can change the charge to a misdemeanor. If you’re involved in a hit-and-run, contact police immediately. It is never a good idea to try and pursue the fleeing driver.
The AJC reports on a woman facing murder charges after shooting a hit-and-run driver. 21-year-old Hannah Renee Payne was told by a judge in Clayton County that there is enough evidence to charge her with felony murder and send her to trial. Payne is charged in the death of 62-year-old Kenneth Herring on May 7th.
According to Clayton County Police, Payne took the law into her own hands when she decided to follow Herring after witnessing him strike another vehicle near Clark Howard Highway.
Payne was on the phone with a 911 dispatcher when she blocked Herring’s truck and told him to get out of the car. A witness told police that Payne then attacked Herring, punching him through the window of his truck and tried to pull him out of the vehicle. Then, the gun went off. Payne’s attorney has argued that Payne was acting in self-defense and she is licensed in Georgia to carry a gun. He argued that the gun was accidentally fired during the struggle.
Have you been injured in an accident? We can help. Call today.