For most people, the blood-alcohol content threshold in Georgia is 0.08%. That limit changes, however, for underage drivers. Georgia has a 21 and older law for alcohol consumption. This means that if a person is underage in Georgia, having a blood-alcohol level of 0.02% can result in a DUI. Even for an underage person, a DUI is usually a misdemeanor. However, if the DUI involves an accident with injuries, the DUI can become a felony. As part of their punishment for a DUI, underage people must complete 20 hours of community service. This community service must be completed within 60 days of sentencing.
WTOC reports on an underage DUI suspect who was involved in an accident that killed two women.
The accident happened during the early morning hours of Thursday, June 13th.
According to the Georgia State Patrol said that a male was driving a Honda Accord in the southbound lanes of Interstate 95 in McIntosh County. The Honda struck a Volvo and both vehicles became disabled on the shoulder of the road. The passengers and driver of the Volvo got out of the vehicle to stand on the shoulder.
A few moments later, a Dodge Nitro struck the Volvo. Inside the Nitro were four occupants. Next, a Chevy Cruise struck both the Nitro and the Volvo, followed by another collision where a Dodge Ram struck the Nitro.
The two female victims were struck. One was pronounced dead at the scene. The woman that was taken to the hospital succumbed to her injuries.
The driver of the Honda, identified as 20-year-old Noe Jose Guillen-Herrera, is charged with DUI, two counts of homicide by vehicle, and one count of serious injury by vehicle.
Have you been injured in an accident? We can help. Call today.