Georgia has some pretty serious DUI laws and the penalties can be severe, even for a first time DUI. For a first time DUI with no enhancing factors in Georgia, the penalty can range from 24 hours to 1 year in county jail. Fines range anywhere from $300 to $1000. The circumstances can also force the judge to order the convicted person to a drug treatment program. A year of probation is a mandatory minimum punishment. Georgia also has no first-offender program for the crime of driving under the influence. This means that an expungement is not available on a DUI conviction.
The Marietta Daily Journal reports that a drunk driver caused a head-on collision in Kennesaw.
The incident that led to the arrest occurred on Thursday, October 3rd, 2019. 46-year-old Elizabeth Anne Potts was arrested by Cobb County Police at the intersection of Pine Mountain Road and Signal Ridge Chase. The arrest occurred just before 10:30 p.m. in Kennesaw.
The arrest came because police allege that Potts collided with another vehicle while driving a black Ford SUV. She was driving west while in the eastbound lanes.
The arresting officer stated that he noticed a strong odor of alcohol and that Potts had bloodshot or glassy eyes. She denied drinking at first, but then stated to the officer that she had imbibed 2-3 drinks.
She refused to take a breath test. Police state that they found half a can of “Truly Berry Mix” in the grass beside her vehicle. An open box containing cans of the drink were also discovered in her car.
Potts was driving on a suspended registration.
She was brought to the jail, where shortly after the crash, she disobeyed multiple commands to sit down and kicked a deputy.
Jail records indicate that Potts is facing charges of driving while drunk, driving while suspended, driving on the wrong side of the road, having an open container of alcohol, and battery against a law enforcement officer.
She was in custody for three days before being released on an $8,000 bond.
Have you been injured in an accident? We can help. Call today.