While Georgia treats all DUI offenses seriously, underage DUI offenses may receive more serious penalties. Georgia has two types of DUI offenses; DUI per-se and DUI less safe. DUI per-se is charged when the driver has a blood-alcohol level greater than 0.08%, regardless of if they are showing signs of intoxication. DUI less-safe can be charged even if the driver’s BAC is less than 0.08% if their ability was impaired.
For those under 21 in Georgia, a DUI per-se may be charged beginning at 0.02%. If the driver’s BAC was under 0.02%, they can be charged with DUI less-safe. The penalties for underage DUI can mean a mandatory 24 hours and up to 12 months in jail for a first offense.
The AJC reports that alcohol is believed to be a factor in a fatal wreck that killed a teenaged driver.
The crash occurred early on Tuesday according to the Georgia State Patrol.
At about 4 a.m. on Redwine Plantation Road, a 16-year-old male left his home in a Jeep Cherokee. At some point, the teen turned around and headed back to his house.
As he was traveling west on Redwine Plantation Drive, his Jeep ran off of the side of the road. It then struck a median and then an oak tree. The SUV then caught fire.
The 16-year-old was pronounced dead at the scene. A preliminary investigation found that alcohol and speed may have been factors in the crash.
The fatal crash is still under investigation and toxicology reports are pending.
Have you been injured in a crash? We can help. Call us today.